Lost Golf Balls

(To the tune of Jingle Bells)

Driving to the course,

My hopes are running high

My score will be low.

But no. I start to sigh.

 

Now my drive goes right.

Fairway’s never found.

My chip is out of sight. I’ve had

Another rotten round.

 

Oh!

Lost golf balls, lost golf balls,

Hitting every tree,

Landing in the bunker with a lip up to my knee.

Lost golf balls, lost golf balls,

Dropping in the drink,

Shank it, slice it, draw it left,

Splashing with a plink!

____________________________________________________________________________________

In response to “got filk?” at YeahWrite.Me

20 thoughts on “Lost Golf Balls

  1. I am not a golfer but I related to the poem. The only place I lost the rhythm was on “that my score will be low.” In the song, the emphasis is on the second syllable and I want to put it on “score” and there’s an extra syllable in the line. Cutting “that” would set it right.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

