It’s Not This Time of Year Without…

My husband might say it’s just not Thanksgiving without turkey and his mother’s dressing. Indulging in two Thanksgiving meals each year, I think turkey is the base that everything else compliments or elaborates. But I’d be just as happy with chicken or ham, and Thursday evening I happily ate my T-day leftovers with some smoked trout salad. Dressing is always a bonus, but I’m even fonder of baked sweet potatoes and fresh cranberry sauce.

For me, It’s Not This Time of Year Without… pie. You have to have classic pumpkin, always crowned with whipped topping. Once that essential is taken care of the possibilities are endless. Classic apple, streusel topped apple, caramel apple, apple crisp. Pecan is a classic at my family gatherings, but I’ll sample almost any pie you’d care to serve. Cherry, chocolate, blueberry, lemon meringue, strawberry rhubarb, even mincemeat. If the pie requirement is filled, let’s add on some brownies, cookies or ice cream.

This year’s question was, Would you like pumpkin, pecan or streusel topped apple? Yes, please!

3 thoughts on “It’s Not This Time of Year Without…

  1. YUUUUM! Agree… I’m just as happy with ham or chicken–and pie and southern cornbread dressing are MUSTS! Sounds like you had a good day. Giving thanks for YOU and how you enrich our lives with your stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

